Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be government restrictions on what they do.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The freedom of expression, either in the oral, written, or artistic form has long been regarded as a basic right of people and a sign of democracy. Although we may be against some ideas of creative artists, they generally can be allowed to articulate what is in their mind. It is the exchange of different ideas that contribute to a varied and dynamic spiritual world.

Although we value the freedom of speech, some problems inevitably ensue without certain restrictions. Creative artists are no exception. Admit or not, not all ideas expressed by creative artists are consistent with our moral standard. What if an artist make an fancy video that is infatuated with dangerous behavior without any warning? How about a film that is full of dirty lines and pornography? The answers are quiet obvious. Every freedom has its limits, which makes the government restrictions necessary.

Aside from moral standard, law is another factor that we cannot afford to ignore. Creative as some artistic form it is, it still need to be forbidden if it threats or hurts other's property or basic rights. For instance, an article which cites a handful of unsubstantiated personal anecdote should never be published. Similarly, pictures that is fabricated and resulted in disorder or panic should also be banned. It is a common sense that law is the bottom line that we need to observe when people express their ideas.

To sum up, I am convinced and respect the basic right of creative artists to express themselves as they will. But the right should be observed under the watch of moral standard and law to avoid any negative influence on others and society as well.