Crime is a problem all over the world and there is nothing that can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that numerous problems exist in most modern cities throughout the world. Although traffic congestion, pollution and overcrowding often occur, many people believe that crime is the most serious problem in urban areas. Indeed, television and newspaper reports often tell us that crime continues to rise. However, I disagree that nothing can be done to prevent it. I believe that it is possible to tackle this serious issue in a number of ways.

One approach would be to increase the number of police. If more Police were on the streets, whether on foot or in patrol cars, criminals would be less likely to commit crimes and people would feel much safer. Having more police visible at night would be particularly beneficial.

A second possibility would be to make laws stricter and punishments more severe. This could involve increasing fines or lengthening prison sentences. If a criminal has to pay more money for doing something illegal or would face more time in prison then I believe this is likely to reduce the crime rate.

Thirdly, methods to increase security might deter potential criminals. For example, more effective alarms in houses and cars. This would reduce burglary and theft. In addition, more information about home security would also be useful. In terms of personal safety, rape alarms or even small weapons could prevent some attacks on people.

In conclusion, although crime is a major problem in most cities in the world, the situation can be addressed by adopting the methods mentioned above. In this way, the negative effects could be reduced and people living in cities would feel much safer.