The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve a crime Do you agree or disagree

There is no doubt that technological innovation has significantly influenced our every aspect of life. Owing to the advancement in technology, there has been a drastic reduction in crime rate, which has made some people think of harnessing this incredible power to counteract crimes. I do agree with this statement to some extent; however, I also believe that technology can breed new forms of offences unless it is used judiciously.

To begin with, technological equipment has assisted the security department to keep the crime rates at bay. This is because such instruments have facilitated the ways to collect evidence for a crime as well as to apprehend the culprit, which have resulted in resolution of some of the sophisticated cases in the history where the offenders did not even leave a single clue about committing the crime. For instance, the Forensic department of security branch is capable of detecting criminal by examining either their finger prints or DNA samples. What’s more, the government is now installing Close-circuit cameras on crime prone intersections of the cities. Such actions are not only used for surveillance but also they act as a deterrent for the criminals who are contemplating about committing crimes. Therefore, it is not hard to see that technology is playing a cardinal role in elimination of criminal activities in recent times.

Nevertheless, despite reinforcing the security departments against criminal threats, proliferation of technology also has the potential to give rise to wicked types of crimes. The reason behind this is that hackers and cyber criminals execute their vicious acts by utilizing the technology, which renders devastating effect to the community sufficient enough to obstruct the progress of a nation. To make matters worse, majority of these criminals have impressive technological skills that makes them almost immune to getting arrested for their crimes. In other words, since cyber criminals have the advantage of concealing their identity in the internet, such anonymity makes it harder for the security forces to locate the convicts. While criminals can gain their selfish motives by abusing the technology, people cannot blame technology for this. If people had embraced the altruistic side of technology only, then society would not have to deal with its dark side.

In conclusion, I think that although technology has blessed us with immense gifts to identify criminals and suppress crime rates, it has introduced new forms of crime at the same time. Technology can be used to curb offences at its full potential only if we apply it for the welfares of the society.