The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve crime.

Do you agree or disagree ?

Many people argue that the number of crime witnesses a decrease these days compared to that in the past, this is due to the reason that advanced technology takes place in preventing and solving crime. Personally, I completely agree with this view.

At first, advanced technology makes it much easier to prevent crime nowadays. The rise in technology leads to the creations of some high-tech devices, which are useful in keeping people alarmed and also reduce the chances for criminals to commit crime. Take cameras as an example, people can know what happens at their homes whenever they want. To be more precise, when they are on a vacation took place far from their houses, they can check out the CCTV footage on mobile phones. Moreover, while these cameras are activated, criminals may be more careful with their actions, which are certain restraints for them in committing crime.

In addition to reducing the rate of crime, solving crime also benefits from advanced technology. In the past, it was regular to see the situations where criminals successfully escaped after committing crime. Some of the reasons why this happened were that police could not be alarmed soon enough and they lost traces when investigating the crime. However, thanks to the emergence of advanced technology, police now can acknowledge crime immediately and have the ability to follow the traces. For instance, through CCTV cameras on the street, at some buildings and even, at civilian housings police can be informed of many aspects of the crime, such as where and when it happened or which way the criminals have gone.

In conclusion, for the reason I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that advanced technology can help in preventing crime by raising awareness of people. Furthermore, it also can be useful in solving stage by giving evidence for the police.