The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology that can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, more and more latest technology have been innovated to protect our life from bullying and help society to decrease the crime rate. However, I think that although there are many undoubted benefits from technology to prevent crime, it also has some limitations.

On the one hand, people can have many advantages from using technology in preventing crime. To begin with, the advancement of automation can inhibit and clear illegalities. For example, polices use cameras to supervise anything, therefore making them recognize threats quickly, and also have the evidence to accuse the offenders. Moreover, a lot of smart machines have been used to analyze criminals’ DNA and fingerprints since it can increase the accuracy of culprit identification and therefore has plenty of benefits in the decrease of offender’s rates.

On the other hand, using these modern devices technology can also lead to an increase in the number of lawbreakers. Firstly, since people nowadays use the Internet a lot, there is a rise in cybercrimes. It is much easier for lawbreakers to steal money and crucial information via phones or computers because of the unawareness of people who use the Internet, they might click on the link that comprises their security settings and then result in their data maybe extracted and used illegally. Another problem for people who use social networking sites is cyberbullying. More and more people had gained hate and threatening letters that make them nervous and scared. In the worst case, they might get depression and choose to end their lives. This issue can be seen clearly in Korea, a lot of celebrities have suicide because of receiving hate from netizens.

In conclusion, I do agree with the statement that modern technology has some benefits in declining offender rates, however, I believe that the disadvantages of using these technologies outweigh the advantages.