As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, computers are becoming increasingly common in our life. This device has a lot of useful functions which can help to make our life easier, for example in understanding another country’s language. Some people argue it is waste of time for people to learn foreign languages since computers can translate fast and correctly. I disagree with the statement and I believe it is essential for people to learn foreign languages.

Firstly, computers are manmade machines so there are possibilities of errors to occur which could lead to incorrect conclusions. For example, slang words are becoming more and more popular around the world, especially with the young generation. However, it is quite hard for a computer to understand these words exactly since they are changing and increasing in number every day, so learning is the only way to understand slang words. Secondly, computers cannot be used to translate while communicating. It’s become odd to look at a smartphone or computer screen over time to know the meaning while listening which could affect the situation adversely.

Furthermore, there are various reasons why people should learn foreign languages instead of depending on artificial intelligence. A lot of studies have shown that learning a new language could booster our brain function. For instance, a person who is bilinguals tends to remember longer than a person who only knows one language. In addition, knowing multiple languages increases the value of the person because position levels in a company usually require language certification. Therefore, if someone wants to achieve success in their career, knowing more than one language is necessary.

In conclusion, although there are undoubted benefits from using computers to translate, learning foreign languages still plays a vital role for people to succeed in their career or to boost our m