Crimes and other kinds of information on TV and newspapers have bad consequences This kind of information should be restricted to be shown in media To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement

# Task 2 6/7

Fewer topics are more important than a nation’s crime rate. Some people argue that information about crime should be limited on public means of communication such as TV or newspaper. While I agree that some information can bring about many detrimental effects on our mental health, I still believe that the freedom of sharing information is sacred and should not be restricted.

On the one hand, there are many negative consequences when being exposed to bad news constantly. For example, if a person is constantly faced with news about robbery and thief in his neighborhood, he will have a tendency to live in fear and are likely to reject helping people in need since he thinks they would harm him. In addition, children who watch news about good-looking criminals are prone to idolize them and consider them as role models. This is due to the fact that teenagers often lack a role model to follow and are easily attracted to the outlawed behaviors of criminals.

On the other hand, raising awareness about crime is an indispensable part of any country. Informing people about uprising scam tricks or wanted criminals will not only help them realize the frauds when they happen but also train their mentality for emergency cases. For example, when tourists visit another country, they can read about popular crime activities such as pickpocketing or overcharging and avoid it before it happens. As a result, the crime rate is prone to decline as people are aware of it through the help of newspapers and TV.

In conclusion, although restricting news about crime contributes numerous benefits to our society, I still believe that public media should keep covering about them for the purpose of creating a better place to live.