Currently, many people fail to balance the work with the other parts of lives, what are the reasons and how to solve it?

With the intensive competition in the workforce, it is difficult for employers to reach a work-life balance. This essay will attempt to analyze the reasons and provide possible solutions.

One reason behind this phenomenon is the competitive business environment. With the reform of education, more and more students are able to attend universities and graduate with good qualifications. Consequently, poorly performing employers are likely to be replaced by qualified graduates, which poses a threat on existing employers’ career. In order to secure their jobs, workers have to spend more time on increasing their skill set as well as experiences. This deducts the time and energy they get to spend on their personal life and eventually leads to an imbalanced lifestyle.

The increasing materialism is also attribute to this trend. With advertisement encouraging materialistic requirements, more people acknowledge luxurious products, such as designer bags and sport cars, as a symbol of success. In other to satisfy their cravings for these goods, employer may choose to work overtime for higher salaries. With less personal time, employers may have difficulties in keeping a balance between their career and other aspects of life.

Since the imbalance between work and life can lead to severe social issues, effective measures need to be adopted to tackle this dilemma. Firstly, government can popularize the damages of over-working by offering public lectures and conducting educational advertisements. Once citizens realize that working overtime is detrimental to their mind and bodies, they will take steps to achieve a work-life balance. In addition, companies can improve employers’ well-being by offering paid vocation. In this way, they can enjoy more quality time with their family and place more focus on the other aspects of life.

In conclusion, the fierce competition and material desires are to be blamed for the increasingly imbalanced lifestyles. However, this concern can be addressed by the government and enterprises collectively.