Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports. Others, however, believe that people should have the freedom of choosing sporting activities they like. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the progression of society, participating in extreme sports has become a common phenomenon. Some people argue that the government should prevent citizens to attend dangerous sports while the others believe the government should not take away the freedom of playing sports. This essay will look into both sides and discuss why

To begin with, there are several reasons why the government should enact laws to prevent dangerous sports. Since most dangerous sports can lead to severe injuries, citizens are exposed to the risk of getting harm. Furthermore, the burden of the healthcare system will increase as more injured people need medical treatments. When more tax revenue goes into medical facilities, other essential public services, such as education and infrastructures may be underfunded and it can lower citizens’ standard of living. Also, dangerous sports can have adverse impacts on the next generation. Due to the immature mentality of youngsters, they may fail to recognize the severe consequences of dangerous sports and view it as a way to pursue excitement. They are likely to engage in dangerous sports without proper guidance, which will lead to severe damages to their body as well as development.

On the other hand, some people disagree with the opinion of forbidding dangerous sports. Since the government is elected by citizens, it is their responsibility for protecting individuals’ freedom, including the freedom of doing dangerous sports. In this sense, banning dangerous sports will be against the obligations of the government and violate some people’s rights. The support rate of the government will reduce when the policies that against dangerous sports are formulated. In addition, banning dangerous sports may lead to undesirable effects on the economy. For example, some cities are famous for outdoor activities, such as skiing and surfing and this will attract numerous sport lovers. Once these sports are banned, fewer tourists will pay a visit to these cities and the local business will suffer from that.

In conclusion, the government has legitimate concerns on dangerous sports because of its negative effects on public funding and the younger generation. However, banning dangerous sports completely can be detrimental to human rights as well as the economic growth.