Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is true that using alternative methods of medication, like homeopathy, is significantly popular nowadays but they lack effectiveness and may even prove fatal. In my opinion, this problem is widespread and should be dealt with immediately.

The reasons behind alternative ways of treatment being useless are numerous. Firstly, the drugs used are not tested in laboratories and have limited evidence available to back their therapeutic capabilities. Secondly, the ingredients used in these medicines are mostly herbal and they are not processed to work on human body appropriately. Furthermore, these organic ingredients are often poisonous or polluted with impurities that can trigger allergies in patients. On top of this, despite rampant practice of herbal medicine throughout the history, there is a serious problem regarding documentation of indications as well as side effects of these pharmacological interventions. So, a lack of in-depth knowledge and understanding of these medicines renders them largely useless for treating diseases.

In worst case scenarios, these conventional methods can even lead to morbidity and mortality. For instance, acute kidney failure is a medical condition that involves temporary shutdown of kidney function but timely treatment can restore them in their healthy state. However, a recent study conducted in Oxford university showed large number of cases where patients opted for alternative treatment options and did not get timely treatment, pushing them into permanent kidney damage. Another factor that is responsible for fatality of conventional treatment methods is poor qualification and skill of its practitioners. The experts are not equipped with proper knowledge of human anatomy and physiology so, they do more harm than good.

In conclusion, although alternative ways of medicine have been common since ancient times, I strongly believe they are redundant and may even become life-threatening. Therefore, necessary measures should be taken to prevent such practices so that effective health care could be provided to people.