Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.To what extent do yo u agree with this statement?

Music and theater have always been integral parts of our culture and a lot of public budget is often spent on them. These days, many people view this spending as a rather unproductive practice and advocate that this money should instead be dedicated to development of community. However, I believe while civil service is important and should be encouraged, spending on arts is also not a waste of money.

There are numerous reasons for why people consider investing money in music and theater is useless. Firstly, we are a developing country and our nation is still struggling to achieve basic necessities like health and education. In such situation, allocating a significant part of budget to entertainment and luxury is a misplaced priority. Furthermore, people should be encouraged to save for more substantial commodities like school and college fee, health insurance and real estate because they ensure a better future for our coming generations.

However, I strongly believe these arguments do not live up to the scrutiny. Firstly, arts like music and theater cannot be reduced to entertainment options only. They not only reflect the culture of a society but also act as vital economic boosters. For instance, music and film industry of India is one of the biggest revenue generators in the country. Moreover, these artistic options produce massive employment opportunities for masses and increase work force which ultimately leads to economic self-sufficiency in a country. Secondly, a successful music and theater industry is capable of attracting foreign investment. This not only brings in foreign exchange into the country and builds a strong financial reserve but also provides large avenues to government for tax collection. In addition to this, sales of theater tickets and music albums are also taxed and in return these monetary profits are used to initiate projects of civil service.

In conclusion, arts like music and theater have always been major public interests but people have concerns that these items drain government money. However, I believe they should not be neglected and instead be seen as an economic opportunity because allocating even a small fraction of government budget can make huge profits. This revenue can be used for projects of public service and a better future can be assured.