Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads cause some problems. What are the problem and what can be done to reduce them?

It is true that cyclists and drivers use the same roads, and accidents with these road users are familiar. While this is a serious problem, it can be solved by some measures that can reduce road users' dangers.

One of the major problems is the likelihood of accidents on roads which are used by both car drivers and cyclists. The risk of accidents and injuries happens for cyclists, who are particularly vulnerable even if they wear helmets for head protection. While there are many cyclists who sometimes do not follow the rules of traffic, the majority of motorists do not have the awareness of other road users. For example, car drivers may not ignore when they overtake cyclists or they may turn left or right without realising they are putting the risk on cyclists. Since car drivers often travel at a high speeds, cyclists have no chance to react in such situations.

However, there are some measures which can be used to improve this problem. Firstly, they local authorities should enhance the infrastructure of traffic by erecting the own roads for both cyclists and motorists. By this way, the risk of accidents between means of transportation can be mitigated. Secondly, the governments have to introduce the policies and the restrictions for car drivers which help them to enhance the awareness of travel on roads. Traffic calming in cities and installing the speed cameras also an effective method to protect cyclists.

In conclusion, although road drivers such as cyclists and drives share the same roads result in the serious problems of accidents, there are still some effective measures to improve this problem.