The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are various ways to punish criminals all around the world to reduce criminality and provide security to civilians. I accept that sometimes capital punishment is necessary. However, I believe that death sentences are not fruitful in decreasing crime, violence and other offenses.

There are different ideas about this issue, some people believe that capital punishment is the best way to stop criminals to committing crimes such as murder, they say when there is death penalty, fewer criminals would dare to commit crimes. Therefore, the existential belief of capital punishment is to reduce crime by spreading fear among criminals about the consequence of their action. Additionally, capital punishment is a way to avoid imprisonment cost which can otherwise be used by government in development.

In other hand, I think that capital punishment is not a good way as innocent people could be wrongly executed. For instance, recent news is published by a daily newspaper in China that a person was wrongly punished after 18 years and it has been proved that he is innocent. there is no evidence about the reduction of crime rates due to the way of death penalty. Many criminals do not think they will be caught therefore they do not have fear of this kind of punishment.

Moreover, some other people believe that capital punishment itself promote more violence in society, therefore for reducing violence they offer another idea that we can replace capital punishment with life imprisonment.

In conclusion, I personally believe it is different from society to society, yet I think in general capital punishment is not essential to control crime and violence in community. In fact, I believe replacing death penalty with life imprisonment is a better idea.