The demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes? What measures could the international community take in order to improve the situation?(

Several countries are suffering famine and poverty in today’s society. Certain citizens in those countries are living in hunger and going through their daily lives without getting proper meals, which leads to the increase in food’s demand worldwide. In this essay, I will elaborate the causes, and propose several effective measures to tackle this global issue.

To commence with, numerous aspects are apparently the main cause for this issue. Firstly, the status of poverty has remained for quite a long time. Countries in Africa or the Middle-East have suffered famine due to the lack of modern applications. These countries have negligible equipment for constructing facilities such as factories in order to produce enough cuisines for inhabitants. Moreover, due to the harsh environment of high temperature around the year, it is nearly impossible to cultivate crops on these lands along with the lack of rainfall, which leads to soil erosion. In addition, a large amount of food is dumped annually. Residents in developed countries do not grasp the importance of food and resources. Consequently, they often leave a considerable proportion of meat and vegetables after finishing their meals because they assume these are basic demands for a person’s life. For example, around 40% of leftovers has been wasted over the past decade, yet people do not perceive that this amount of cuisine can be used to feed a whole community in Africa.

International communities can consider various solutions to deal with this problem. Developed countries may be demanded to provide supplies for other agrarians. Governments should consider transporting necessary materials to these lands to set up modern facilities that can play an important role in producing food. Furthermore, it is advisable to propose a fixed penalty for leaving food in restaurants. For instance, people can acknowledge that they must pay an additional fee if they have a certain amount of leftovers after their meals. Therefore, the intense issue of dumping food into the garbage will soon be clarified in the near future.

In conclusion, although a large quantity of food has been provided over the past century, many people are still in need of this resource nowadays. Thus, governments should take into account various measures, which will make poverty diminish from an advanced society.