The demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes? What measures could the international community take in order to improve the situation?

Food consumption is witnessing a significantly arising demand across the globe. There are some factors involved in this phenomenon and the joint effort from the global population could alleviate the situation by several initiatives.

There are a variety of explanations for this trend, chief of which is that the booming population has entailed the scarcity of food in some particular regions. Overpopulation is primarily prevalent in some countries such as China and India, in which the dense population, up to a billion people, has resulted in the more mouths to feed while the supply chains are unable to equate the birth rates, leading to the disparities in the food demand and the production systems. Furthermore, its consumption varies in accordance with people’s purposes, and betterment in the living standards allow them to relish a full-filled life. Food is now on the demand of higher quality ingredients as well as flavor in order to gratify taste buds and nasal passages of the affluent. Not only the rich but also the general public has acknowledged the magnitude of fresh-and-nutritious food, leading to the overall growing demand around the world.

However, in an endeavor to ameliorate the existing phenomenon, steps could be taken immediately. First, governments should cooperate with private sectors to have more policies that benefit the business and expand the production scales. Once the supply chains are efficient, it will meet the demand of the market within a firm, resulting in a better free market capitalist model that gradually surmount the scarcity of food. Additionally, there should be campaigns in order to raise public awareness of not wasting food for non-essential occasions and gatherings, especially when the socioeconomic status is poor. This will help people both to save their budget for other living aspects and in turn, make them treasure the current lives when food is still widely available.

To conclude, there are some reasons behind the increasing demand for food. Nonetheless, governmental bodies should enact relevant legislation to facilitate businesses activities in tandem with educating the public to deliver tangible betterment.