Despite spending several years in Yekaterinburg, he could not speak a word of Russian. Some cultures value old age while others value young age. Discuss both attitudes and express your opinion.

Opinions on the merits and drawbacks of aging is varying from one culture to another. Some see old age as a sign of wisdom and young age sign of naivety. However, others view young age as a period of human vibrancy and old age as a period marked by redundancy. Both viewpoints will be examined in this essay.

On the one side, many feel that the contributions old people make to society are more valuable than those made by their younger counterparts. The fact that most world leaders are old people play as a good example here. The elderly, having experienced more, tends to hold a deeper understand of the problems of the world and are thus capable of sharing much more effective advice. Thus through this lens, it is understandable why age is revered in many cultures.

On the other side, many counter that youth carries with it a viciousness and energy that old age simply cannot match. Although fictional, the main characters from the movie. The GodFather clearly demonstrates the various drawbacks that come along with aging. Towards the end of the movie, Marlon Brando's godfather begins to having trouble making rational and timely decisions due to his increasing age. Because of this, his son, played by Al Pacino, is required to take over as head of the family. This scene illustrates a truth that is universally constant with old age comes increasing dependence. It is for this reason that many cultures prize the energy and dynamism that comes with youth.

Although the above discussion demonstrates that there are benefits to both being old and young, it is argued that neither age can be said to be better than the other. It is assumed that worldwide culturally sensitive beliefs regarding age will not be altered into the foreseeable future.