In prosperity our friends know us; in adversity we know our friends.

Write an essay outline how you define 'friendship'

Friendship always has been, and always will be, defined differently by different people. What constitutes 'friendship' to one person, may be considered inaccurate to another. Despite these varying definitions, it is argued that a universal definition honesty as its base. This will be proven by analyzing friendship as it exists both at an interpersonal and internation level.

At a very primal level, friendship between people is based on honesty. A good example can be seen as looking at friends who grew up together, from childhood to adulthood. These kinds of friendships, deemed by most to be of the truest quality, tend to involve knowing another human being rather intimately. Thus, it is clear that honesty makes up a basic trait of a healthy friendship.

Honesty also proves to be a crucial component of friendship between international bodies. For instance, historical international allies, such as Canada and the United States, strengthen their friendship when they act with honesty towards one another. In the case of Canada and the United States, the sharing of information pertaining to landmass security benefits both countries and creates healthy inroads between them. Thus, even at international levels, honesty acts as the basis of friendship.

After analyzing friendship as it exists between people and countries, it is clear that honesty acts as a critical component. Thus, true friendship will never exist without honesty.