In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing What problems will this cause for individuals and society Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

It is often said that there is a significant increase in the average life span of humans. This essay will point out some problems of this trend and suggest solutions to mitigate them.

There are several reasons why the growth of average life expectancy causes many issues for individuals and society. Firstly, the aging population puts a heavy burden on the healthcare system. For instan\ce, during the COVID-19 pandemic, governments had to spend huge money from national subsidies to treat countless people who have community spread. Secondly, there are more elderly people of retirement age who are eligible to receive a pension from the national budget. Consequently, some nations are not able to afford to pay for social welfare.

However, some solutions could tackle the problems that are mentioned above. Firstly, money from national subsidies should be taken from other sectors to spend on vital healthcare facilities. Therefore, it would meet the growing demands of health-conscious nations while the rising numbers of the old citizens. Secondly, it is important for governments to increase the retirement age for working adults, perhaps 65 or 70 years old. If people work longer, they would pay more taxes and reduce the cost of pensions.

In conclusion, there are numerous measures to tackle the problems which certainly arise as the populations of countries grow older.