In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that can be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is widely observed that people in industrialized nations can expect to live longer than ever before. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, steps can be taken to resolve these potential problems.

When the number of the older is increasing, several problems can be anticipated. One of those problems is that an ageing population puts a heavy burden on the healthcare system. Older people are more vulnerable to chronic diseases such as heart attacks or diabetes. As a result, the government might have to invest a lot of state budget on special medical treatments to serve the growing demands of an ageing population. Besides, because of increasing life expectancy, another problem arises. Actually, there are more older people who claim pension benefits and the number of the younger and working adults will be smaller. In other words, it would put pressure on young people and working adults to pay higher income taxes.

There are a range of measures that can deal with the problems of an ageing population. Firstly, the government should increase the retirement age of working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. Because of the development of medical treatments, the older generation can be healthy enough to continue a productive working life. For example, in Japan, which has the highest life expectancy in the world, the older still work when they are 70 or more. A second measure would be to encourage the immigration of young working adults. It will result in increasing tax revenues for the government. Finally, the state budget of a country which is facing an ageing population should be invested on public healthcare system, accomodation and transportation facilities for the rising number of older citizens.

In conclusion, various solutions can be taken to mitigate the problems of developed countries whose populations are growing older.