In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that can be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Nowadays, with the fast paced development of medical treatment and life quality, the lifespan of humans in the developed world is expanding. As a result, both individuals and society are facing many negative effects. there are some solutions that can be brought into use in order to diminish the problems.

The increase in average life expectancy means that there are more elderlies and fewer young. The foremost problem is the downturn in economics because of the lack of labour force. it is impossible for companies to operate effectively with the insufficiency of employees. Besides, the higher rate of ageing populations is, the heavier burden on nursing service is. Since young people work hard under a huge workload, they have no time to take care of their parents. Therefore, more and more people stay at nursing centres in their old ages. many resources are accumulated to focus on nursing service instead of other sectors.

Based on the mentioned issues, the government could take into consideration some measures. In the short term, increasing the age of retirement is essential. As the medical treatment and life quality are improved, people have better health and conditions to endure their working age. In the long term, the government should pay attention to the maternity policy for women which includes financial support, high-quality health care without fees, longer maternity paid leave, and career support after maternity leave. This action will stimulate women to have more offspring. These days, many young women are under pressure from work which leads to an unbalance in their life. In consequence, they are likely to not get married or have children because they are afraid of getting more tension.

In conclusion, ageing populations is a concerning issue worldwide, but there are a variety of means that are potential to control it.