In the developed world average life expectancy is increasing What problems will this cause for individuals and society Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations

It is widely acknowledged that many developing countries are increasing life expectancy dramatically. This essay will demonstrate some of the main problems of this before outlining a number of viable solutions to mitigate the situation.

It is evident that the growing population of elderly people can have negative impacts on citizens and governments. One of the first problems due to increased life expectancy is that it increases the number of retired people who will receive a pension. Although older people do not need to work, they still receive a considerable amount of money from the government. The government has to devote a large budget to pay their pensions and this can affect the economy of the country. Another problem facing a country with increasing life expectancy is the increasing demand for health care. Elderly people are more susceptible to chronic diseases, such as heart disease or diabetes. These diseases require special medical treatment to be effective. Thus, they have to pay a large amount of money for medical treatment.

Many feasible solutions can be implemented to remedy the aforementioned issues. Firstly, the government should increase retirement age to reduce pressure on the government pension fund. For instance, if the retirement age is increased to five years, elderly can accumulate more money to take care of themselves without depending on pension fund of the government. Another measure would be to medical development. Medical advances and health programmes might allow elderly people to stay healthy and work for longer. Besides that, governments could also encourage immigration in order to increase the number of younger adults.

To sum up, it is clear that the increase in life expectancy is the main cause of some serious problems in developing countries. Nevertheless, this issue can be resolved by the proposed solutions.