In some countries more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college University or even after finding a job Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages

It is clear that more and more young adolescents, including many who have graduated or already have jobs, are unable or unwilling to leave home and make their own lives. While this trend has some benefits, from my perspective, the disadvantages seem to outweigh the advantages in this case.

On the one hand, choosing to live under one roof with parents offers a number of merits. First of all, it helps young people to save money when they do not have to allocate for rent, electricity or water. This savings can be used for emergencies such as illness or marriage. In addition, living with parents can help form stronger relationships among family members. For instance, after a busy working day, a newly graduate student can have dinner with his parents, discuss work problems and maybe get some advice.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of this trend too. Firstly, It hinders the independent development of young people. In the future, they need to live without parents because they will have a family or their parents will pass away so it is better to leave their parents’ house once they can earn enough income to pay the living expenses. Secondly, from the opinion of their parents, they may want more time for themselves, free of family responsibilities. After all, they have helped their children further their education, with the aim of putting their knowledge gained into practice and pursuing a successful career, so parents now deserve some time for themselves.

To sum up, though it is undeniable that living with parents can be advantageous because of saving money and improving relationships among family members, due to the loss of independence, it seems to be more disadvantageous.