In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing.

What problems will this cause for individuals and society?

Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The rapidly increasing speed of median longevity is causing the emergence of serious issues for modern society in recent development. Despite this certain consequence of improved living conditions and medical technologies, the government can consider several actions to diminish population ageing impacts on a large scale.

One of the most significant effects of higher life expectancy is the enormous burden on the welfare system as the number of beneficiaries overwhelms the working force productivity limit. Physically weakened elderly required a large budget in nursing home and healthcare in comparison to the deficient start-up investment for the youngsters as well as putting a strain on the following generation because of their reliance on the younger ones support. An alternative influence is the escalation in population density, especially in metropolitan areas and urbanized regions, result in a stressful lifestyle and deprived living quality.

There are several solutions to the problems described above. Firstly, expand the limit of retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70, in this age worker are well equipped with real-life experiences and are able to carry through working difficulties. The second measure would be taken more money from national budgets from other areas to spent on vital healthcare, accommodation and transport facilities for the rising numbers of older citizens. The final step is to invest in the younger generation in order to found a sustainable basis for the future society operation.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.