As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction?

How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is significant that as a vast majority of adult devote most of their life in their workplace, job satisfaction plays a leading role in balancing workers’ physical and mental health. While there are other elements need to be fulfilled to completely foster employees potential, I believe that it is impossible for an absolute perfection in addressing all workers needs.

Despite there are several factors that are required to be accomplished, I personally consider adequate managerial level communication with all staff is the most important element in maintaining high job satisfaction rate. Mutual interaction not only guarantees the attachment amongst organizational vision and workers’ goals but also assure the employers could address basic employees’ work-life balance. In the real sense, multiple social surveys have proved that the percentage of job satisfaction in operation that has frequent contact with the workers are at least 5-10% higher than the average number. Other factors such as increasing salary and benefit, annual vacations and maternity leaves or recurrent training are noticeably contributing to workers’ satisfaction.

However, job contentment for everyone is actually very difficult to achieve due to the diversity of all workers. Many people may enjoy their current job but their limited income might make them unhappy with their profession, while in the opposite perspective, other workers find it hard to continue to devote 8 hours a day, 5 days per week for a well-paid job that they are not interested in.

In conclusion, all extrinsic and intrinsic factor are consideration-worthy in order to address job satisfaction, although job contentment for all workers is impossibly hard to accomplish.