The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

English has become the most known language in the world and it is believed by many that it could become the only language spoken on the entire globe. In my opinion, I think that having only one language spoken globally can bring about more problems for people compared to any advantages it may bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of having a single language spoken in the world. Firstly, it will allow a greater understanding between countries. In other words, without a language barrier people can communicate with other nation members with no need of a translator. Consequently, trading goods between countries will become much easier. Secondly, the communication conflict due to the lack of translation will be avoided. For example, often times when people try to translate the direct meaning of the words in another language it could change their intended sense. The message, therefore, can be found offensive and inappropriate by the recipient.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages below, I believe that people can face serious drawbacks from having a globally spoken language. One potentially dangerous problem is that it can reduce people’s intellectual performance. For instance, a recent study has shown that individuals who possess multiple languages are more focused, fast thinkers and their creativity is outstanding. Another obvious issue is the risk of losing the country’s heritage, traditions, and beliefs. A language, furthermore, is closely associated with every region’s values and traditions. The tourism will be affected as well since a country without its own unique traditions and ethics won’t be so attractive to visit.

In conclusion, lowering people’s intellectual performance, lose the countries uniqueness, their traditions and values outweigh any benefits that could result from having a language spoken globally.