The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is argued by some that English has become the most ubiquitous language due to the growth of tourism, resulting in everyone in the world speaking just English. This essay will first, discuss ease of communication as one of the main advantage of this and secondly, outline loss of jobs as one of the chief disadvantage.

One of the key media of information sharing is oral communication.Today we have more than 100 languages spoken in the world and as a result, to effectively communicate, both the speaking parties have to learn and understand a common language. However, this issue will be resolved if the whole world spoke a single language as there will be no pre-requisite of learning a different language. In other words, a person today visiting, for instance, Korea needs to learn Korean to successfully talk to the local people of Korea, but this problem will vanish if every person spoke a single language.

On the other hand, it will result in the reduction of a few types of jobs, for instance, translators and dubbing artists. If one needs to travel to a place which has a different dialect, he can either learn that language or hire a translator who can help him in communicating with the locals. Similarly, many Hollywood and Bollywood films are dubbed into the regional languages by dubbing artists so that the local population can enjoy that movie. Having a single language throughout the world will result in the disappearance of these kinds of jobs.

In conclusion, although, the biggest advantage of having one language throughout the world is that it will make it significantly easy to communicate, the primary disadvantage for some will be a loss of employment.