The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As countries communicating more and more today, people often predict that if the world developed to be united enough and then all people will speak in english in their daily life. having one language may probably be effective in some cases, however are there any downsides alongside with these advantages? In this essay, I will give some examples and try to draw some conclusions.

First of all, it is not realistic that one language can prevail over the others, however it would be perfect if variation of existing languages be replaced by english. english is acknowledged as an official language for international communication so if everyone can speak it, it can enable greater understanding throughout the world. Secondly, it can be resulted as fewer obstacles for people to trade so that there would be development in economy.

From the other side, there are some evident cons of having one global language. For instance, there would be no cultural diversity if we all speak the same language. No new ideas would be thought of and life would be very boring, because the diverse groups of people in the world are what makes the human race what they are. secondly, it can result in collapse of tourism. Therefore, people would not like to travel if there is no interesting culture and the particular countries which rely on tourism as an income source may be devastated.

To sum up, although there are some advantages of having one language, too much would be lost as a result. From my perspective, I personally think that each country should prioritize its language and culture in order to ensure a rich world heritage to the next generations.