Some people think that e-books are better to be used for education in order to go paperless. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages. Give your own opinion.

It is argued by many that e-books are the solution for paper-free education. I agree with this notion and consider modern as well as effective teaching technique a major advantage to it, whereas addiction to electronic devices like mobile and laptops to be a principal disadvantage.

Nowadays, many institutions are moving towards a paperless approach to education with the help of modern-day technology like e-books. Firstly, it saves tons of paper as there is no more need to print millions of books, which helps prevent deforestation and save the environment. Secondly, since the content of those books is now available digitally, it is very compact and easy to use on electronic devices like mobiles and laptops. In other words, The students now don't need to carry those heavy books everywhere, instead, they can use it when and wherever they want on their mobile phones. For instance, Amazon has already begun converting traditional paper books to e-books due to its increasing popularity and easy use.

On the other hand, it poses the threat of the growth of addiction towards the use of these electronic devices among the students. Since the books will then only be available digitally, the several hours spent in front of these devices will increase much, which may in turn damage the visibility of young children, leading them to the use of spectacles. In addition, some students may find it difficult to study on mobile phones as they may get distracted to social media. Take such as, when I read an article on the internet, some social media notification pops-up resulting in distraction.

In conclusion, even though e-books may accelerate addiction to mobile phones, I believe there are greater advantages to it such as environmentally friendly and ease of use.