Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve such problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Technology has been a much-discussed topic in the modern world. It is believed that advances in technology have exerted numerous negative effects on the fragile environment. Opinions are divided on whether simpler lives or cutting-edge technology should be the key to this issue. From my perspective, I believe that thanks to the availability of modern technologies, environment-related problems will be improved remarkably.

Admittedly, some people may argue that due to simpler lives, there will be fewer environmental problems. It is a fact that the pressing environmental issues came from the coverage of hazardous waste, especially solid wastes, which could pose a serious threat to citizens' life as well as nature. If people lessen the number of products they bought daily, they can limit the environment-related issues. However, such fewer purchases could bring about unwanted effects to both individuals and countries. Doubtless, it can put individuals, especially extended families, to great inconvenience since those scanty commodities cannot meet their basic needs such as food or clothes. Moreover, it could make significant losses for the economy as there might be various enterprises being bankrupted due to the lack of consumers

Besides, there is always a range of ways that the developments of technology can contribute to environmental protection better than living simpler does. Firstly, the development of degradable packaging such as paper could enable customers to buy their desired products without worrying about physical waste thrown into the environment. Similarly, alternative energy resources such as solar energy will have become even cheaper and more effective. If this kind of energy is adopted widely, it is possible for us to sustain our current lifestyles while reducing our carbon footprint.

In conclusion, while some people think that they should live simpler lives to prevent environmental issues, I would argue that these problems can be addressed more effectively by technological improvements.