Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the Internet

With the advent of the Internet, humanity has undergone dramatic changes, which open doors to what we have never ventured to think of. While it is indisputable that the Internet has ushered in endless possibilities for the betterment of our world, it is not without its setbacks that could pose potential threats to society.

Living in a world connected by a global network, we enjoy the unprecedented convenience of communication and information. To begin with, the Internet has created an era of effortless communication on a global scale. People across the globe today can get in touch with a simple click of a mouse, thanks to the help of social media platforms such as Facebook and Skype. These platforms help bridge the geographical gap that once took written letters days and months to reach their recipients. In addition, we owe the Internet to inexpensive access to a massive digital library. Nowadays, there are numerous websites which are dedicated to a diversity of topics and contents, either for academic or entertaining purposes. For example, Netflix allows its users to set up their own at-home cinema with only a small amount of subscription fee per month.

On the flip side of the coin, the Internet is a thriving source of major conflicts and crimes. The Internet has been used as a tool to manipulate publicity as a result of the information revolution. Internet users are bombarded with news and stories on a daily basis, but not all of them come from authentic sources. This is where enemies will take advantage of to pump fake news into circulation, which can ignite suspicion and hatred among civilians. Moreover, cyber crimes are becoming more and more concerning. Internet users are vulnerable to increasingly complex viruses and spywares that infiltrate the system and steal personal information, including bank accounts and identity numbers.

In general, the Internet is no doubt the game-changer in terms of communication and information, yet its adverse effects regarding the welfare of its users remain a problematic concern, particularly during this booming era of information. In the end, it all boils down to the attitudes and behaviours of the users to decide whether the Internet is good or bad.