Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A zoo has no useful purpose.

• Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

The question of holding animals in captivity has always aroused heated debates. While some people sticking to the idea that zoos bare a didactic and educational function, there are plenty of proponents who believe that zoos have not an important purpose in the modern world to cruelly hold animals aside their natural zone of inhabitance. Despite of sharing an idea of animal welfare with the rising possibilities for their comfort living I agree on the crucial role of zoos for the animals as well as for people.

First of all, I would like to draw ones attention to such purpose of zoos as a vital refuge for threatened and endangered animals, which spices are about to disappear with the Amur tiger as an example. Along with it, the zoo can be considered as a place to cure sick or injured animals, which otherwise will not survive in the wild living. This option demands not only ample financing but also a constant control which is hardly conceivable without a zoo foundation.

Secondly, based on the zoos creation the major world organizations can provide better support and direct help to the threatened spices. Along with the large foundations and scientific institutes, some zoos can be the base for the research. For instance, a large corporation like Samsung can establish a fund to finance the dying breed of white rhinoceros. Although one can argue on other possibilities to rise population of rare animals like sanctuaries, natural parks and reserves, I consider the zoo as an example of that possibility.

To conclude I can say, that despite of sharp disputes around the cruelty to animals we cannot ignore the crucial role of the zoos in preserving endangered breeds and scientific researches in support. With the technology development, people should come to the better treatment of animals, so that their inhabitance area can be specially tailored for the animal needs in zoos or other captivity.