Do you believe that experimentation on animals for scientific purposes is justified Are there any alternatives to animal experimentation

Currently, most scientific research in developing new medicine and treatments involve laboratory testing on animals. This has been viewed by some to be a morally flawed practice that should be banned, but believed by others to be necessary for the discovery of crucial scientific breakthroughs. While I believe that there are valid concerns on the morality of animal testing, there are limited alternatives beside it that can also provide the same effect.

Some people argue that animal testing should be stopped due to the ethical issue surrounding it, as the experimentation done on them could hurt or even lead these animals to become sick. For example, some injections of drugs have led to the growth of tumors in animals. Unfortunately, animal experimentation remains an irreplaceable stage in medical research in the modern age. In developing a new treatment for cancer, for instance, scientists must always inject the newly developed drug to an animal, often mice or primates, to monitor its effects on living creatures. Without this important step, researchers would not be able to ensure the safety of these medicines on humans. Furthermore, testing on these lab animals is done to avoid the difficult choice of having to directly test an unknown treatment on humans, risking their health and raising a bigger ethical issue.

To this day, there are very few avenues other than animal experimentations to safely screen potential new drugs. Recent ventures have been made by scientists to come up with new technologies such as stem cells and artificial tissues as an alternative to this practice, but these are early developments; science has long to go still before stem cells can be constructed into a full working replica of living tissues capable of producing the same responses as an animal or humans. Unless researchers are able to create these living models, thus eliminating the need to test on animals, there is no other choice but to continue with our current methods.

To conclude, although experimenting on animals may seem unethical due to the harm it may cause them, it is a necessary way of ensuring the safety of treatments for humans. Without this quality assurance process, scientists might have to test on humans instead, an approach that brings more risk than is necessary. Until scientific research is able to catch up to people's desire for a more ethical procedure, there may be no other choice but to follow the tried and true path.