Do you think it is better to send criminals to jal or let them receive education or job training?

people have different views about whether or not criminals should be punished by putting them into prison. In my opinion, it would be better if the government provide offenders with education and job training.

On the one hand, there would have some certain drawbacks when all offenders are forced to go to jail. First of all, the cost of running and managing prisons is often costly as the government needs to invest much money on facilities and security. Furthermore, when criminals have to face loss of freedom, social isolation and spend years of their lives in prison, they could become dissatisfied. This would prevent them from becoming good citizens after being released. As a result, these people tend to re-offender and then being returned to prison.

On the other hand, I believe that education and job training are the best methods which may be used to help criminals become useful residents. Firstly, education could change criminals’ attitude in a positive way. being educated, criminals would be able to distinguish between right and wrong, and they would realise that it is unacceptable to fall foul of the law. Secondly, job training is extremely important for criminals as it helps them to gain a basic career after completing their sentence. if do not having enough money to make ends meet and support their family, they will be tempted to continue pursuing illegal activities. providing job training would enable them earn a living when coming back to the society, and they would no longer have motivation to break the law.

In conclusion, I think that enforement angencies should offer education and job training for criminals rather than send them to prison.