Does Internet need to be controlled by the government? Justify your answer.

Due to technological development every individual in the world has access to internet. People believe that the internet should be monitored or regulated by Government authorities, on the contrary some people are of opinion that it is a free source and should not be controlled. In this essay, we will discuss both the sided and give our opinion. Firstly, we will explore the benefits of internet to human world. Secondly, we will list down how the internet is being misused for unethical purposes.

We live in a fast-paced world, where internet plays a most pivotal role. Today, internet is used in every field like banking, business, education, shopping and most importantly in work places. People are enjoying the unlimited benefits of use of internet. For example, a national survey among working professionals of multinational companies resulted that 80% people were benefitted by using internet by saving their time. Additionally, internet service is used nowadays in domestic chores as well, for instance, buying groceries online, this saves a lot of time.

On the other hand, with pros always comes cons. Similarly, the increase in popularity of use of internet has also resulted in misuse of it for unlawful activities by young people. For instance, adolescents access few websites that have pornographic content which directly impacts the well-being of child and they become addicted to it. Furthermore, due to increased access to internet, the virtual security of personal information has come into question. To illustrate, in the past, many hackers had absorbed the personal data from banking system and used it for looting money from customers. Additionally, this personal information stored on internet are sold by big IT giants to small companies for handsome amount of money, which as a result, leads to spam calls to customers for irrelevant product services. To recapitulate, the use of internet should be monitored and governed to avoid these cybercrimes.

To conclude, the advancement of technology has resulted in unlimited access to internet which in turn has many advantages, but in my opinion, the number of cybercriminals has also considerably increased. Therefore, regulations on internet are the need of an hour.