Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Learning skills and cultivating inventive quality is supposed to grow more efficiently through pleasurable pastimes. While hobbies could be one alternative to learning, I feel they are not as effective as reading as we will see.

On the one hand, leisure pursuits may come into pedagogical value as can be evidenced by some available computer games. For instance, car racing computer games can help increase concentration ability which is an admirable talent. However, they might not cover many paramount skills like everyday life skills. For example, we may not be able to learn assertiveness through games or drawing. Furthermore, the magnetic characteristic of pleasant activities, potentially cause addiction as is observed in computer games leading to underachievement in academic subject.

Regarding the merits of reading, Firstly, the reading materials come into diverse forms (hard copy, digital or Internet books and magazines) and varieties of fields like art, philosophy, literature and so forth, filled with inspirational notions, which target larger population. In addition to that, since books are written by experts those who base their works on a rigorous field or library research, leading to more in-depth insight. For example, a historical movie as a leisure activity, may provide general information, however, the movies usually are dramatized or even distorted merely for commercial purposes which is not as educative as books. The counterargument of reading as a means of learning is that young children are reluctant to reading which is an acceptable objection, however, the aversion can be seen in illiteracy of young people despite the growth in availability of books.

In conclusion, in my view, reading as an approach to learning outweighs other forms of educational materials considering its wider coverage in terms of subjects and forms besides deeper exploration.