International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that tourism industry is accompanied by both beneficial and harmful effects on the tourist destinations. I understand the negative impacts in the meantime, I support the plus side of the industry certainly supersedes the negative impacts.

On the one hand, anti-tourists industry offer varieties of reasons from cultural, economic, political and environmental aspects. Firstly, the opponents believe since visitors typically are from more developed countries, their cultural values may be admired and copied by the local people. This may lead to disappearance of local traditions in the long run or disintegration of social fabric of the local people. As a result it may cause instability and political unrest later. Secondly, the visitors litter in the environment polluting the local habitats nevertheless it is the local people who suffer from the pollution. Thirdly, the arrival of visitors increases the prices of food and home in the local area during the high seasons because the service providers tend to offer the resources to affluent customers which will deprive the local people from having their normal life.

On the other hand, tourists spend more money than the local which encourages entrepreneurs to create more job opportunities which is in benefits of the locals this will boost the life perspective in poorer places and possibly discourages emigrations besides improving the life quality of the local in the long terms. In addition to that, the cultural interaction in not just negative, but it can also generate a melting pot of cultural values and fortify the local culture though increasing the sense of unity and may provide a harmonious life in the future.

In conclusion, my view is that tourism is far more beneficiary than harmful and has the potential to improve the local lives while the negative influence is negligible.