Drug abuse among teenagers is becoming a problem in our society. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

It is true that drug abuse among adolescents is becoming increasingly serious in my parts of the world. This worrying trend can be ascribed to a number of reasons, and it can have some adverse impacts on society and young individuals.

There are several factors that contribute to the consumption of harmful substances. Perhaps the primary reason why drugs find their way into the lives of young people is the lack of proper family guidance. Teenagers who do not have a close parental relationship or receive little supervision are at higher risk for addiction. As children are left unattended and any confusion that they may experience is not handled with the deserved dedication, many turn to drugs to hide from their problems and escape their reality. Another cause of this issue is peer pressure, which is especially influential during adolescence. For example, in order to impress their friends, many teenagers choose to engage in risky behaviors, such as red light running or substance abuse, without taking into consideration their harmful effects.

Increased consumption of drugs certainly results in several detrimental impacts on children. A major problem is the tendency of drug abusers to show anti-social behavior. Research shows a strong relationship between drug use and juvenile delinquency, with youngsters committing crimes such as theft or robbery to fuel their drug use. Use of drugs can also lead to emotional problems, such as anxiety, depression, and suicidal thoughts, experienced by many youngsters. In addition, it has been found that those who are addicted to harmful substances can have serious and irreversible brain damage, leading to poor academic performance and memory problems. This hinders students’ personal and professional development and prevents them from becoming productive members of society in the future.

In conclusion, the increased use of drugs among adolescents is caused by several social factors including parental supervision and peer influence, and this phenomenon may bring about serious mental and physical impacts on children.