Due to the Corona pandemic, lots of schools all over the world have implemented online learning during school closures. Some people think distance-learning programmes can never be as good as courses taken in person. Do you think this is a positive or negative development in education?

Since the Coronavirus has spread over the world, lots of schools allow their students to use the online courses during school closure. Although the virtual class has a positive influence on learning outcomes, there is more drawback compare to the traditional way.

On the one hand, distance learning is more convenient to access the lesson. By using the internet for transmission of knowledge will allow the student to be flexible in their time and places. For example, rural students can join the class without going hundreds of kilometers to their school. Moreover, distance learning would minimize stress for some students fall behind with their studies so they can learn at a suitable pace. In Asia, parents always caring about their child’s grades if the students can’t catch up with classmate will make parents depress so many of them send their child to study more and more extra class.

On the other hand, online learning in which missing communication and contact lead to a minor effect on students. We can recognize that learning via the internet doesn’t help students strengthen communication skills and critical thinking like face-to-face activities do. School is also the place to make friends and understand the relationship in society meanwhile study online can not do that. This can lead to a negative influence on shaping a child’s personality. Furthermore, without a study under supervision, students from every age will be attracted by stuff on the internet.

In conclusion, though deliver the lecture online become more popular, I believe the course taken in person is more effective. Online learning would be a temporary solution to cope with accidental hence the school has to focus more on traditional teaching styles.