due to increase in traffic congestion government impose traffic congestion tax during rush hours.

is it positive or negative development?

Increasing traffic jams are inevitable problem faced by individuals of a region. To tackle this problem goverment are sanctioning congestion tax at the time of rush hours. It may have certain merits;however, it also have few demits.

On the one hand, implementing congestion cess would be a postive step for decreaing road traffic. Firstly, it would encourge people to use public transportation like Bus and Train, rather than private mode of transport such as car or bike. As people would use public transport in order to save money by not paying extra tax, this will significantly reduce the movement of vehicles during busy hours of a town.

Secondly, this will also be a huge step towards a less polluted and more spacious roads in a region. More and more people would use city bus or trains for their daily work , which would reduce carbon emission from their private mode of transport and decreasing ratio of motor cars on streets.

On the other hand, it would be a extra burden of tax on citizen because they are already paying revenue toll and many more charges to goverment and implementing a another tax would be a detrimental for middle class family. Moreover, public infrastructure might not be a state of art in some locality, so people might not be able to access it.

In conclusion, imposing stringent taxes might have advantages of less polluted roads, cheaper public transport, but it also have disadvantages if public infrastructure is not ease to access in some area.