Earlier technological development brought more changes to the life of ordinary people than recent technological development do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, people are now enjoying one of the greatest technological boom times in human history. Although there is a consensus that social changes coincide normally with technological advances, it is a contentious issue whether the earlier technology (e.g., machines, cars, airplanes) impacts on people's lives to a larger extent than does the recent technology (e.g., Internet, computers). In my opinion, the recent improvements in technology have more far-reaching consequences. While the invention of automobiles was a landmark in the technological evolution of humankind, the widespread use of computers and telecommunications technology has dramatically reshaped the nature of the society. One might have benefited a lot from one's improved ability to move rapidly from one place to another because of the availability of automobiles, yet this benefit has been discounted because of the advent of the Internet. With Internet access, the world has become accessible to people and one can perform many tasks at home (e.g., grocery shopping) and let their fingers do the walking. Lifestyles are changed by recent technologies in equal measure. Before computers and the Internet were created, most working people struggled with a lack of leisure time and the balance between family life and work life. They were fully occupied by employment and various chores, such as shopping. With Internet, they are now able to spend much less time on those routine, dull activities and lead active leisure lives. Modern technologies also account for the evolution of people's perception of society. People tend to develop, modify and repurpose technology for their own use. Interdependent, previously a core virtue of many societies, is now undermined. Cell phones allow people to insulate their private interactions from the culture around them and to create their own micro-cultures. The mobility given by modern transport meanwhile, allures them to leave their place of birth and work and live elsewhere. Cultural norms are subject to modification and the communal lifestyle is going out of fashion. In conclusion, whether one likes it or not, technology will continue to evolve, with the resulting changes impacting the lifestyles and cultural norms continuously. While the earlier technology had enhanced the quality of life and generated revenue for people, the recent technology has made them lead a different lifestyle from previous generations.