To ease traffic problems, people are encouraged to live close to their workplaces/schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, it is argued by many people that the best solution to reduce traffic problems is encouraging people to move closer to their workplaces. In my opinion, I totally agree with this notion as it would have the desired effect in making cities more livable.

To begin with, the transportation problems come from some sources, such as public transportations, private vehicles, and many more; but most of the time, these troubles result from the increasing number of employees' vehicles. For example, peak hour traffic is undoubtedly made up largely of staff from companies going to and from home. Therefore, if the number of workers’ vehicles is reduced on city streets, a large percentage of traffic will obviously decline in rush hours. One of the most effective ways to do this is by encouraging staff to live in places near their workplaces. this will need them to walk or ride a bicycle to go to work as they do not want to spend their precious time taking out a motorbike or a car just to go for a small distance.

In addition, if the demand for using cars is reduced, manufacturers will not have the motivation to produce, which can limit the amount of polluting emissions. Moreover, although automobiles are more helpful in terms of saving time, yet cycling and walking are far more beneficial in the long run. they often need a lot of energy expenditure, which can help to burn extra calories, thus, providing long-term health benefits to the people. For example, according to a survey, about 50% of people in Japan reach their offices via pedaling and walking, so they stay physically fit.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that we can reduce many traffic problems by spurring citizens to live close to their workplaces. Not only does this can help to improve the problems causing by personal vehicles but also boost workers’ health.