Economic growth in recent years made some people in both developed countries and developing countries richer. However, research shows that while people in developing countries are happier, people in developed countries seem not happier than before. What does this happen? What can we learn from it?

It is true that individual consumption has generally increased in the world today, among people in both developed and developing countries. While this should lead to increasing happiness, particularly in developed countries where consumption is greater, this is not always the result. It is necessary to explore and understand the reasons for this.

I would argue that people are happier when they have a useful role to play in their community, but societies are breaking down. One major factor is the growing influence of commercial advertising, which has helped to create today’s consumer society. Its influence is global, but its chief target audience is consumers in developed countries, because they have the greatest spending power. Another factor is the population shift of people to cities. Over half the world’s population live in cities, but in Japan and the USA, for example, the figures are more

than 90% and 80% respectively. Cities are concrete jungles, where social bonds no longer exist and people feel a sense of alienation.

Lessons should be learned. Firstly, advertising must be restricted and monitored by government agencies, so that they no longer promote greed and selfishness in order to maximize profits. I believe that people with a social conscience are disillusioned with a life based on consuming more and more. Secondly, urban spaces must be redesigned to include the demolition of high-rise buildings and the construction of social and community centres where people can find happiness through a feeling of community and organise their own activities.

To conclude, although economic growth has created more wealth, the ethical focus in all countries must now be on re-building communities to create a happier world.