English receive increased popularity. What is the advantages and disadvantages ¿

Stepping into the 21st century, globalisation unarguably makes english the most spoken language in the world. most people find this phenomenon beneficial, but there are still strong views on both sides, which I will discuss now.

people opposed to the increased popularity of english highlight the loss of diversity in languages and cultures as a whole. For example, english speaker may be influenced by Western customs and no longer appreciate their mothertounges. this emerging trend directly contribute to the negligence of one's own cultural heritage. Furthermore, anti-english lobby point out that the wide currency of english results in stiff international competitions. young contenders could only find jobs below qualifications when they finish schooling due to this trend. Lastly, , even if globalisation expands opportunities for specific segment of population, a large number of people may lag behind, especially the old and people from disadvantaged and marginalized backgrounds.

Conversely, those who support turning English into a global language say that in most cases, english offer a valuable tool for cross-cultural communication. Thanks to english, people from all parts of the world can exchange ideas openly without communication barriers. Besides, this trend is undeniably the driving force behind global productivity on ground that businesses now operate beyond borders and countries are closely connected with each other. In addition, young people would be given a life-transforming opportunities with english language acquisitions. they are able to boarden their horizons by not only learning english itself but the cultural background behind this language. this definitely help them fulfill their ambitions, as well as climb high in the social ladder.

In conclusion, my own feeling is that the advantages of the widespread use of english would indeed outweight the drawbacks of this trend. Of course, this is provided that the dividends of benefits are distributed fairly across society.