Environmental damage is the problem of most countries. What factors damage the environment and who should takes responsibility?

Environmental problems is a heated debate in this day and age considering its crucial role in our daily life. The degradation of ecology can be attributed to two main factors and it is not only individual but every single existed human being on planet should be accountable for this issue.

When it comes to the driving force behind environmental degradation, it is the population explosion and industrialization that are detrimental to our ecological system. First and foremost, increasing global population has imposed a heavy burden on food supply and land resource. It is showed in recent research that 80% of the Earth’s vegetational cover has been cleared to make room for cropland and accommodation, with a view to catch up with the increasing demand for food and housing of modern mankind. Secondly, industrialism that did not happened in accordance with protecting nature are to the detriment of the ecosystem. To be specific, chemical pollutants are discharged directly into rivers and oceans without undergoing proper filtration has pose a threat to not only aquatic habitat but also human’s domestic water source.

Hence, it is not only the responsibility of governments or gigantic corporations but also the work of each individuals considering that we all have little to enormous impacts on nature. In terms of government, more and more ecologically friendly policy should be implemented so as to preserve the country’s nature. That is to say strict legislations such as prohibit chemical waste from industrial plants, apply heavy fine on deforestation should be carried out in earnest and on a wider scale. Considering individual’s accountability in environmental conservation, by accomplishing small actions like: not dumping litters, saving energy, using bicycles or public transports instead of motorbikes or cars whenever possible, each person has made a great contribution to the protection of their surrounding nature.

In a nutshell, environmental deterioration is ascribed to the explosion of world's population and industrial processes. The responsibility of conserving our surroundings should not be put down to any independent organizations but to every citizens, governments and corporations on Earth.