Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, our planet is facing the destruction of the environment. Some people believe that it seems only governments is responsible for the natural conservation and individuals do not take responsibility in protecting environment, because this problem is too big for individuals. Personally, I completely disagree with this view.

There is a variety of reasons why both the governments and humans in the world should save our planet Earth. I would argue that individuals do not have to solve environmental problems. Firstly, human activities are the main cause of the devastation of nature. For example, people are cutting down forest- deforestation for providing wood for fuel, making land for housing, industries. This can lead to global warming by increasing the amount of carbon dioxide in the air. Therefore, individuals are responsible for their destructive activities and they should improve environment.

Secondly, when the governments introduce policies and organize public campaigns about natural conservation, the citizens should obey the laws and contribute to protect ecosystem. For instance, some countries impose “green taxes” on industries and encourage their residents use public transport rather than driving. Consequently, we decrease the environmental pollution, global warming and increase government budget.

However, I would agree that there are several serious and large environmental problems that governments are the most important role of resolving this problem. This is because our Earth are suffering a lot of natural disasters such as flooding, rising sea levels, frequent droughts and greenhouse gases. Therefore, only the countries and organizations have a huge amount of money and time for reducing and preventing natural problems, because the government has a much greater resources than an individual does.

In conclusion, it is clear to me that government must address the problem of environmental destruction, and I disagree that individuals is not responsible for saving natural environment.