Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals because individuals can do little. Agree or disagree?

Nowadays, as a matter of environmental pollution has raised a controversy about who should be responsible for protecting the environment, politicians or individuals? Although politicians play an important role in environmental protection, individuals should jointly share this burden.

Some reasons are explaining why politicians should take a major role in alleviating environmental pollution. First, since the industrialized process is the main cause of environmental degradation, only governments have sufficient authority to be responsible for controlling industrial activities. For example, by imposing a higher tax on products, governments can possibly diminish the mass-produce in factories which have contributed to air pollution when emitting a large amount of carbon dioxide into the environment. Second, it would be vain attempt of individuals when making an effort to take steps in environmental protection activities solely without any politician's support. In fact, influential figures are proved to be more impactful on society than any anonymous ones, thus making personal endeavors meaningless.

However, it is not only governments who take responsibility for environmental problems but also individuals. First, politicians are not the only ones to be held responsible for environmental degradation. In fact, environmental pollution has resulted in the irresponsibility in a long period of human activities, which explains why the entire community should collectively share this burden. Second, since the human being is the building block of society, the coöperation among communities is vitally important for any transformation. As a matter of fact, any environmental movements cannot be carried out in terms of governments only, which enhances the imperative personal involvement in the long-term war on fighting pollution.

In conclusion, though it cannot deny that political initiatives are of paramount importance to environmental protection, the public role should not be underestimated. To benefit the environment in the long run, governments and individuals are better to cooperatively share forces.