Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is claimed that the phenomenon of languages vanishing each year is not a serious issue as many believe that life becomes less difficult thanks to this disappearance. This essay totally disagrees with this view for the following reasons.

To begin with, the diversity of languages enhances human’s ability to obtain understanding about a variety of nations. Specifically, languages are closely associated with cultures and traditions, which makes them a powerful tool for those with an aspiration to explore the history of certain countries. For instance, the national language of Vietnam was invented based on Latin alphabet by Western priests when they came to Vietnam for missionary work in the 17th century, which has then become widely used since the colonization of the French in the early 1900s. Therefore, conducting research on Vietnamese as a language helps to pave the way for the acquisition of profound comprehension about this nation’s past events and their impacts on today lives. Broadly, the maintenance of uncommon languages allows one to gain access to the knowledge of the related civilizations more easily.

In addition, the protection of all existing languages is important because coming along with it is the preservation of scientific and artistic works. In more details, languages are investigated and analysed for the purpose of developing and conserving the invaluable accomplishments from the old days until now. A prime example for this is the continuous study of linguistics masters on “Nom”, which is the first official language of Vietnam that has been considered a dead language since 1945, with an aim to recover the ancient literature compositions and preserve them for researching or publishing. Therefore, it would be of tremendous problem for human to maintain the achievements inherited from the previous generations should they decided to let languages die out.

In conclusion, life would certainly become more challenging with fewer languages. Not only the loss of languages creates a barrier preventing human from the attainment of knowledge, but it also affects negatively to the conservation of excellent written works.