Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely seen that a host of languages vanish annually. Some people assert fewer languages would make life much easier. In my opinion, however, I disagree with this statement due to the benefits that numerous languages may provide.

To begin with, a language is an undeniable identity of one race. Languages are the strongest evidence that a nation is existing for a given time since they are created by their ancestors and passed down to younger generations. Moreover, culture, tradition, and history of a country are rooted in languages. Provided if a language, such as Chinese, disappear, people might not understand the history of China. Thus, this may lead to the vanishing of traditional customs and festivals of a nation. Besides, some ethnicities may disappear as well once they lose their languages.

Another point of my disagreement with this opinion is the loss of knowledge written by one's specific language. Human beings have explored a variety of ancient knowledge that is carved on stones or written down on paper by particular languages. For instance, documentaries by Greek genius hold knowledge for the human race which are still used these days and are written in Greek only. Without fully understand these languages people would never have chances to study these important documentaries. Or, it will be impossible for people to understand how to make Japanese tea or cook Korean food once the languages of these countries diminish. Even though fewer languages enable people to communicate easier, less information is transferred with a limited number of languages.

In conclusion, despite the belief fewer languages would make life easier, every language needs to be upheld due to the identities and knowledge that they contribute to not a nation but also the whole human race.