Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer language in the world.

Many languages are on the verge of extinction today and some people argue that it is unimportant. In my view, even though communication would be easier if people use the same languages, I disagree that this trend is insignificant.

Fewer languages contribute to more freedom. People would become more physically mobile because there are fewer limitations of languages. For example, travellers could go to anywhere they want without considering language barriers. Besides, this could facilitate understanding between different ethnic groups. Speaking of the same dominant languages, people don’t need to translate their languages, which could to some extent avoid misunderstandings and even prejudice, as they express themselves in a more intelligible way. However, these could also be achieved by using modern technologies like translators and smartphones.

Therefore, the disappearance of some languages have more negative impacts on our lives. Languages are bound up with its cultures. As symbols and manifestation of cultures, perishing languages would result in loss of cultural diversity and richness. What’s more, a language helps a community to remain cohesive and to have a strong sense of identity. People who speak the same language from a particular area would gain a sense of belongings as they are tightly tied by their unique language. Finally, a language is a special expression reflecting emotions, beliefs and philosophy of an ethnic group, which differential their social members from others. If their language dies out, their creative work like literary production would not exist, which is also a loss for all human beings.

To conclude, regardless of the efficiency and convenience that language reduction may generate, it is urgent to protect those endangered minority languages since they play important roles in our society.