Everyone should stay in school until the age of eighteen. To what extent do you
agree or disagree?
In many countries, school attendance is mandatory for all children up to a specific
age. In India this is 14 years of age. In the uk and many other countries it is 16,
although the uk government now has plans to raise the school leaving age to 18. I
agree that children should be in school till the age of 18. In the following paragraphs,
I intend to put forth my arguments to support my views.
The most important reason for raising the school leaving age to 18 is that, the age of
14-18 is the most impressionable age of a child‘s life. During this period of
adolescence, the children undergo physical and hormonal changes because of
which they are under a lot of pressure. therefore, lengthening compulsory schooling
helps protect childhood. While at school students will be protected from some of the
pressures in life. they have the rest of adulthood to work, make budgets balance
and make choices. providing them with space to grow for as long as possible can
make them better prepared for adult life.
Secondly, more education provides the opportunity to acquire more skills and
therefore more options. it has been shown many times that those with more
education find it easier to find work and that they are more likely to find that work
satisfying. What is more, raising the school-leaving age is a crucial investment in
society's future. Doing so increases the economic potential of the future workforce,
and so will bring increased tax revenues in the long term.
However, the opponents claim that extending the period of compulsory education
requires a huge investment in teachers, books and new school buildings which
would be very expensive. they also say that many families need their children to
make an economic contribution to the family income and working early can help
these families to survive. Finally, just being in school does not guarantee that a
student is learning. Unwilling students become disruptive and damage the education
of others in their class.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, as every garden has weeds, similarly
compulsory schooling also has some drawbacks. However, these drawbacks are
nothing as compared to the vast benefits this approach would bring and the cost
needed to implement would be negligible if compared to the huge economic potential
of the future workforce. therefore, I believe that everyone should stay in school until
the age of eighteen.